Which Lure Rod?

If you use artificial lures to catch any predator this is the forum for you
Frenchieboy
Roach
Roach

Which Lure Rod?

Post by Frenchieboy »

If admin think this post would be better in a different section please feel free to move it!
I currently have a 7 foot 10-25G rod and a 9 foot 20-60g rod, both of which I enjoy using and get on quite well with! However up until now I have only been using lures up to around 30(ish)g. The wife has asked me what I would like for Christmas and I have come up with a suggestion of a heavier rated lure rod for chucking heavier and bigger lures and for using for larger dead baits when wobbling! Ideally the rod would want to be suitable for using with either a fixed spool reel or a bait caster/multiplier.
Keeping in mind that I am relatively new to pike fishing and have to fish on a budget what lure rod would you guys suggest, let's say up to around £100 please?
Thanks in advance for any advice! :thumbs:

Edit: Being a little fat short ar$e I would ideally like to stick with something not longer than about 10 foot in length!
Chico 48 PAC
Chub
Chub

Re: Which Lure Rod?

Post by Chico 48 PAC »

I honestly think you are really looking for more than one rod to cover the requirements to do everything you require.
Dave Lumbs' Duellists might have fitted the bill on most of it but sadly they are discontinued.
I am not familier with the more budget rods available so hopefully someone else on here will be and can recommend something for you.
JOIN THE PAC- http://www.pacgb.co.uk/join.html
www.chicoslures.co.uk - if you use FC for pike then do not use me.
paintman
Perch
Perch

Post by paintman »

Wonder if you might be better looking at a rod capable of dead baiting & using it for bigger lures?

FWIW I have a Fox Warrior 12' 3lb TC I bought for carp but fine for deadbaiting & I used it a lot for sea lures & sea float fishing until I bought the heavier drop shot/lure rods I now use for lures. Not bad as a light beachcaster either.